Random Observation: Rizzoli & Isles…Please, consider your vowels!

Is it just me, or is Rizzoli and Isles the stupidest title for a show you’ve ever heard?  Who the hell picked those names and put them together???

I would like to make it clear that I am not at all saying that complicated names are a problem.*  Not at all. 

What I’m saying is that you should try saying them out loud AND, MORE IMPORTANTLY, TOGETHER before slapping them on every poster and filming your commercials.  Naming is important and, unless you’re doing something biographical, writers have a choice.  And trust me, we do put a lot of thought into it.

So how the hell did this happen??? 

Seriously, try saying it out loud.  It’s all the vowels – “Rizzoli,” ending in I, then “and” starting with A, and then another I.  What’s wrong with you people???  Every time it is announced it has to be said like that.  And it won’t just be your paid narrator person for TNT always in control, if you want any sort of other publicity.  Just think how the talk shows are going to butcher it!  And no, making it an ampersand does not actually help at all.

I also just think Isles is almost impossible to say after anything.  Try it!  They’re obviously going to call themselves by their last names because they’re associated with law enforcement.**

“Hey, Isles!”

“This way, Isles.”

“The girl was DOA, Isles.”

Okay, that criticism applies especially if the word preceding ends in an A,E,I,O,U or Y, but I still think it’s just really hard to say.  Period.  And therefore one of the worst titling jobs ever.

Also, a cop and a medical examiner?  A tomboy and a girly girl?  Seriously?***

*Or complicated names with various ethnic backgrounds.  Somehow, I’m really worried someone will take offense here.  That’s not what I am saying at all.  I am just talking vowels in separate words being placed back to back.  In a work of fiction where you have control over these things and should consider how the title will read.

**Obviously.  Is there any other way?

***Looking at their website EXTREMELY briefly to confirm that “medical examiner” was the official description, I ended up watching the video about the show being based on a series of popular novels.  If that is the case, then I say “seriously???” to that author.  Someone is to blame for these stereotypes and names.  And even if she wasn’t planning on it being a tv show, readers would say the names in their heads and the title would still be impossible to pronounce.  In your head.

9 Comments

Filed under Random Observation, TV

9 responses to “Random Observation: Rizzoli & Isles…Please, consider your vowels!

  1. Pingback: Sometimes, pundits are just plain … stupid – Tess Gerritsen’s Blog

  2. Elizabeth

    I have had no problem saying the names Rizzoli and Isles. Perhaps the problem is not with the name but with person who doesn’t know how to say such names. 🙂

    • 10 Things

      Elizabeth – You’re absolutely right, it could just be me.
      Though shared out onto the internet, this blog is only ever meant to be my personal opinion. Thank you for sharing yours as well! 🙂

  3. You know what the great thing is about this show? It’s true to the genre style of writing of its author.

    You read a mystery, you expect a mystery on TV or the movies. Name?? So what. It’s the content that counts and Rizzoli & Isles delivers the goods.

    It’s the best damn police drama out there, PERIOD.

    • 10 Things

      Barbara – As I’m pretty positive you understood, I was not commenting on the quality of the characters or the stories in either the books or the tv show. I have not read the books nor seen the show and do not presume to give a true review of anything but the title, as I have seen in the ads. Just thought I’d throw that out there into the universe for anyone else reading this.

      Anyway, I’m glad to hear that the show is delivering what you want. That can be a rare thing with book to tv transfers!

  4. I’m still not convinced everyone is actually reading what you wrote so I’m not sure you should bother clarifying but…to each his own. Good books? I couldn’t tell you. Entertaining show? Too early to tell. Best police drama out there? Hardly.

    I probably just pissed off Barbara. You’re welcome, JB. That’s what friends are for. 😉

  5. Maumee Mom

    To answer a few of your questions…

    “Is it just me, or is Rizzoli and Isles the stupidest title for a show you’ve ever heard?” – It’s just you.

    “Who the hell picked those names and put them together???” – An incredibly talented and successful author, Tess Gerritsen.

    “So how the hell did this happen???” -Some smart person from the TV industry recognized great, well written characters which would advance nicely from the novels to the TV genre and the TV series, Rizzoli & Isles, was born.

    “What’s wrong with you people???” -There’s nothing wrong with us, most of us have no problem saying the name.

    Not a question but a comment: “I also just think Isles is almost impossible to say after anything.” – It works well after the title “Dr.” The character commands a level of respect so she is rarely referred to as just Isles.

    “Also, a cop and a medical examiner? A tomboy and a girly girl? Seriously?***” – Yes, seriously. Try reading the novels before you criticize them. The combination works wonderfully well.

    Honestly, why criticize something that you know nothing about? Research is a wonderful tool for bloggers so I suggest you try watching the show or reading one of the novels before commenting further.

    The title, Rizzoli & Isles, brought a significantly large literary fan base to the show. It is earning amazing ratings for TNT so I guess the title isn’t “stupid” after all.

Leave a Reply

