Coming Soon: a Trailer Extravaganza!

It was time for me to do a little catch up on my movie trailer watching and so I give you:

10 Movie Trailers I Recommend and that Actually Make Me Excited for the Movie!* (plus some random stuff that I think you’ll like that has sort of has to do with things)

Click on the title to see the trailer…

1. FrICTION

Especially from a writing/storytelling point of view, this looks fascinating!  I love stories where you can’t tell what’s real and what’s not, that blur lines between fact and fiction and deal with authorship, improvisation (or feigned improvisation), and the gaze of an audience.  Sweet.

2. The Sorcerer’s Apprentice

I am surprised at my opinion, but I have to say, this looks really really fun.  As for the “plot”…. eh, who knows.  But fun.  Minus Nicolas Cage’s hair, of course, which is a horse of a different color.

3. The Kids Are Alright

This is not based on the memoir that I want to read, but I already knew that.  I think this looks good.  I think I would like it.  And I like the people in it.  Actually, based on the trailer, I think I’m going to like the son the best, which is the one actor I didn’t already know.

4. The Adjustment Bureau

At a movie recently, during this preview, I heard people near me complaining about being confused and particularly about it being the most boring title ever.  a. I think it looks cool.  Like I said, I like the messing with your perceptions things, are we seeing a trend yet?  b.  I love Emily Blunt and ballet, so yeah, good combo.  And, in the trailer at least, she doesn’t look half bad for someone who never studied it.  c. I love Philip K. Dick stories.  And he can title them whatever he damn well pleases.  So shut up.  (plus it’s cooler that way)

Though rewatching it now, I will admit that the music is a little too “forced drama” for me.

5. Winnebago Man

Looks f*ckin awesome!  Probably wouldn’t see it in a theatre, but definitely want to see it.  This is a green band trailer (appropriate).  There is a red band one too (less appropriate), but I didn’t feel like signing my life up to hulu.  Please feel free.

6. Solitary Man

I want to see it.  I really like Jenna Fischer.  That is all.

7. Going the Distance

I’ll support the rom com.  They’re not all terrible; I often quite enjoy them (though many new ones, I find, are indeed terrible).  This looks cute.  And alllll the one-liners in the trailer were funny to me.  That seemed like a good sign.  And I have been in a long-distance relationship.  And I feel like they got good people – a la Jason Sudeikis woot WOOT!  Also, it’s written by someone named Geoff La Tulippe.  Geoff of the Tulips, or so I shall now call you.  I approve.

8. Let It Rain

I have read very good things about this French film.  Also, it’s been a day of thinking about maintaining diversity in lists, so this is currently filling the foreign film slot. 🙂

9.  The Extra Man

YES.  Kevin Kline in what looks like a very funny role.  Paul Dano.  John C. Reilly.  (and Katie Holmes is thrown in there too.  We’ll see.)  They had me at “No.  Enough!”  Trust me, watch the trailer.

10. Inception (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) – Trailer 1, Trailer 2, Trailer 3

I have been excited for this movie since the moment I saw the first trailer a few months ago.  I can’t wait.  As I said, I love stories that mess with your perceptions and especially those that deal with dreams, memory, and the mind in general (I would probably say my favorite of all time is Eternal Sunshine, to give you an idea).  From the moment of seeing the hallway twisting (which gave me flashbacks to an amazing Fred Astaire dance sequence – see below), I was hooked.  And I love that they’re trying to give so little away in interviews and the like.  This is one I want to experience without going in knowing, you know?  Plus it’s got my man, JGL, which certainly doesn’t hurt anything…  These trailers makes me squeal in anticipation and get very excited for July 16th!  (full disclosure: I also just watched the third trailer for the first time, and I have to say, cheers to their marketing team.  They get you hooked with the tease in the first one and slowly give you a little bit more of an idea of what it’s going to be about so you’ll stay interested and appeal to the masses, who, I assume, want to know more in order to spend their money.  Well done, peeps.)

Fred Astaire in Royal Wedding – song starts at 1:33 and the dancing starts at 2:34:

(Please note that it’s almost entirely one continuous, full-length body shot as he goes around the room. Awesome, right?)

More randomness:

I just need to ask, and I know this is out of nowhere, but it has to do with trailers and you will thank me when you watch this…whatever happened to Tucker and Dale vs. Evil???  Looks so amazing…and ALAN TUDYK!!!  And, I just realized, Siri from 30 Rock.  huh.

Right?  RIGHT???

What are you excited to see?

* Does that sound bitter?  Perhaps that sounds like I’m being harsh on today’s movies.  Then again, see here.

3 Comments

Filed under Awesome Randomness, Click Here, Movies, Trailers

3 responses to “Coming Soon: a Trailer Extravaganza!

  1. The Kids are Alright has just been on my mind forever, and I just want to see it so bad, it’s not even funny!

  2. I’m wondering what happend to Tucker & Dale vs Evil too!

    Btw, I love your url. Empire Records is one of my faves. 🙂

Leave a Reply

