Friday Afternoon Thoughts – Subtitle: An Afterlife Rock Opera

From this week’s “Bullseye” in Entertainment Weekly:

“The movie Ghost is being turned into a stage musical.  Lyricists grapple for words that rhyme with pottery.”

I had already heard about this, though I think I had blocked it out.  As a playwright, this piece of news brings up obvious burning anger over the things that they (the man?) are choosing to make into musicals these days.  There really are no new ideas and all these remakes are a pretty sad state of affairs.  Not to mention, with all of the struggling writers out there, pushing the envelope of what it is possible to do, of what theatre and film and fiction and art fundamentally are (and I’m not talking about myself here, I’m talking about friends and contemporaries and amazing artists I know and don’t know and discover on a daily basis), THIS IS WHAT THEY CHOOSE TO SPEND MONEY TO FUND???????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Are you shitting me?

But, on another note, I am also able to find this bit of news rather amusing for a few reasons:

1. Can you imagine how they are going to do the scary animated black hell guardians or whatever they are that come to take away the bad guy at the end?  I’m seeing some pretty awesome interpretive dance here…

2. Speaking of dance, I suppose when you have a movie that starred Patrick Swayze the dance number connection is easier to see.

3. Someone gets to play Whoopi!  And think of the songs!  Think of the “How to Scam Rich People as a Fake Psychic” hoe down!

4. How are they going to do the Whoopi channeling Patrick straight to Demi part – not necessarily that hard, but will definitely be interesting…three way kiss, anyone?

5.  I am easily amused–

  • lottery
  • slaughtery (as an adjective)
  • pot of tea
  • off of me
  • bottany
  • bought an E (could work with a sudden excursion to Wheel of Fortune.  Ooh, or Patrick’s watching the show at home and Demi comes up singing – Demi: I made you some nice pottery. Patrick (yelling at the tv): Dumbass!  He should have bought an E!  And no, I don’t know the characters’ names.)
  • boss of me
  • mockery 🙂
  • Gotta pee!

And I do.  Fin.

1 Comment

Filed under Friday Afternoon Thoughts, Movies, Theatre

One response to “Friday Afternoon Thoughts – Subtitle: An Afterlife Rock Opera

  1. erin

    I’m disappointed that you don’t know the characters names. All of my Oda Mae Brown jokes will fall flat if you don’t know who she is. But maybe she can sing a song called “I Signed The Wrong Name.”

Leave a Reply

